Three lawmakers reassigned to Appropriations and Government Oversight


AUGUSTA–Earlier today, State Senator Emily Cain stepped down from her legislative committee assignments on the state’s budget writing committee and as Senate Chair of the Government Oversight committee.


In a letter to Senate President Justin Alfond, Cain wrote, in part:


“As the Democratic nominee for Maine’s 2nd Congressional District, I have a responsibility and an obligation to the people of Maine to transition my role on these committees in order to prevent their important work from becoming unnecessarily politicized during an election year. My decision does not come lightly. As you know, I love this work and believe deeply in its importance.”


Senator Cain is completing her fifth term in the Legislature–four terms in the House of Representatives and one term in the State Senate.


“It is with a heavy heart that I accept Senator’s Cain’s resignation from these committees,” said Senate President Justin Alfond of Portland. “She has been the ultimate negotiator and problem solver and her presence will be missed.”


Senator Cain served as the “second” Democratic State Senator on the Appropriations and Financial Affairs Committee, led by committee chair, Senator Dawn Hill of York.


Senate President Alfond has selected Senator Margaret Craven of Lewiston to replace Senator Cain on the budget writing committee. Senator Craven previously served on the budget writing committee for two terms while serving in the Maine House of Representatives and for one term, in the 124th Legislature of the Maine Senate.


“I am delighted to be finishing out my term with my good friends on the Appropriations Committee,” said Senator Craven.  “I look forward to the next six months work.”


Senator Craven is serving her third term in the Maine Senate and will continue serving as the Senate Chair of the Health and Human Services Committee. In May, Senator Craven announced she will be retiring from the State Senate at the end of her term in December 2014.


The Appropriations and Financial Affairs Committee is scheduled to meet next on August 19th at 10 a.m.


Senate President Alfond has selected Senator Chris Johnson, a current member of the Government Oversight Committee, to serve as Senate Chair of the committee.


“Having served on the Government Oversight Committee for almost two years, I am looking forward to continuing the work and taking on the larger role of Committee Chair,” said Senator Johnson of Somerville.  “It is important that the work carried out by the state is effective, efficient and earns the confidence of Maine people.”


Johnson is serving his second term in the Maine Senate and will continue chairing the Marine Resources Committee and serving as the “second” Senator on the Education and Cultural Affairs committee.


Senate President Alfond selected Senate Majority Leader Troy Jackson of Allagash to serve as the “second” on the Government Oversight Committee.


“It will be a pleasure for me to join the Government Oversight Committee,” said Senate Majority Leader Troy Jackson of Allagash. “The Committee needs to work as a team to assure that our government is transparent and doing the work the people of Maine expect.”


The Government Oversight committee is scheduled to meet again on June 26th at 9a.m.