FEMA announces 13 Maine counties qualify for storm recovery grant

Posted: March 15, 2018 | Senator Gratwick

AUGUSTA — Sen. Geoff Gratwick, D-Bangor, would like to remind the City of Bangor, the Town of Hermon and any other municipalities in Penobscot County that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) recently opened an application to aid disaster relief caused by the major storm last fall. This opportunity is open to all municipalities in the 13 counties FEMA has approved for federal financial assistance.

“I encourage Bangor and Hermon to take a good look at applying for this assistance,” said Sen. Gratwick. “The money could go a long way to help with storm repairs that would otherwise come from local property taxes.”

If the municipality’s application is accepted, this grant can cover up to 75 percent of repair costs to public infrastructure like roads, bridges or town offices. Damage from the storm last year still remains in the designated counties. This storm recovery grant is a good opportunity for municipalities to pay for the necessary repairs.

Municipalities and other public entities have until November 2, 2018 at 5 p.m. to submit an application.

Those seeking additional information should contact Maine Emergency Management at (207) 624-4400.