Jackson, Libby congratulate re-elected constitutional officers

Posted: December 08, 2016 | Senator Jackson, Senator Libby

AUGUSTA — Senate Democratic Leader Troy Jackson of Allagash and Senate Democratic Whip Nate Libby of Lewiston released the following statement regarding the election of constitutional officers on Wednesday:

“We offer our sincere congratulations to all four re-elected constitutional officers,” said Sens. Jackson and Libby. “We know they will continue to approach their work with the utmost professionalism in safeguarding elections and public records, upholding the law, and maintaining the integrity of our state’s finances.”

A joint session of the 128th Maine Legislature re-elected the following constitutional officers on Wednesday:

  • Hon. Terry Hayes, State Treasurer, first elected to the office in 2014.
  • Hon. Janet T. Mills, Attorney General, first elected to the office in 2008. Mills was nominated by Sen. Mike Carpenter, D-Houlton, himself a former Maine Attorney General.
  • Hon. Matthew Dunlap, Secretary of State, first elected to the office in 2004. Dunlap was nominated by Sen. Jim Dill, D-Old Town.
  • Pola Buckley, State Auditor, first elected to the office in 2012. Buckley was nominated by Sen. Libby.