Maranacook skiers, coach honored with Legislative Sentiments

Posted: July 11, 2017 | Senator Bellows

Front Row: Sarah Chapin, Sarah Halberstadt, Meghan Smith, Laura Parent, Shenna Bellows, Maura Taylor, Hajna Nagy, Maddie Taylor, Brielle Bondeson, Carter McPhedran, Brady Stockwell, Coach Kathy Despres 2nd Row: Ethan Watts, Abby Despres, Camille Kavanah, Ruslan Reiter, Ashley Cray, Cambelle Nutting, Sebastian Alvarado, Coach Steve DeAngelis 3rd Row: Nathan Delmar, Zachary Holman, James Stratton, Bryce Trefethen, Connor Firth, Luke Bartol, Tate Mendall, Nathan Janell

The Maine Legislature honored the Maranacook Community High School Boys and Girls Nordic Ski teams for both winning the Class B State Championships and Coach Steve DeAngelis for being named Coach of the Year at the Varsity Maine Awards.

“These skiers accomplished so much this season not just individually, but as teams,” said Sen. Shenna Bellows, D-Manchester. “They demonstrated athletic and academic excellence and perseverance over adverse conditions. We are all inspired by their remarkable achievements and their strong teamwork.”

The Nordic Ski Team members, Coach DeAngelis, Assistant Coach Kathy Despres were accompanied by Maranacook Community High School Principal Dwayne Conway and Superintendent Donna Wolfrom at the State House on Wednesday where they received the Legislative Sentiments.

A Legislative Sentiment is a significant expression by the Legislature in recognition of civic and public achievements.