Sen. Claxton sworn into the Maine Senate

Posted: December 05, 2018 | Senator Claxton

AUGUSTA—Earlier today, Democratic Senator Ned Claxton of Auburn was sworn into the Maine Senate. Sen. Claxton was elected to his first term in the Senate in November.

Chief Justice Leigh Saufley administered the oath of office to Sen. Claxton and 32 of his Senate colleagues, all of whom have been elected to serve two-year terms. He represents the good people of Senate District 20, which includes Auburn, Mechanic Falls, Minot, New Gloucester and Poland.

“While I may be new to the Legislature, I’m certainly not new to the challenges Mainers are facing when it comes to health care,” said Sen. Claxton. “For more than 35 years, I’ve watched my patients struggle to afford their medicine and jump through hoops to appease insurance companies. These issues aren’t going away anytime soon. We need to take action. I’m excited to join my new colleagues in the Maine Senate, roll up my sleeves and get to work.”

Sen. Claxton has spent his career as a family physician working to improve the health of individuals and families in the greater Lewiston-Auburn area. He previously served as President of the Medical Staff at Central Maine Medical Center, co-chairman of the Lewiston/Auburn Community health committee and on the board of the Maine Public Health Association. In 1987, Sen. Claxton became the first person to be named Maine Family Physician of the Year by the Maine Academy of Family Physicians.

Aside from his work, Sen. Claxton is an active member of his community. He provides medical support for the annual Dempsey Challenge and Beach to Beacon events, volunteers with the Androscoggin Land Trust and sings in the choir of the First Universalist Church in Auburn. Sen. Claxton has two adult sons and lives with his wife Marian in Auburn.

Of the 35 senators, there are 21 Democrats and 14 Republicans. Twelve are women and 23 are men. There are 13 new members: 11 have recently served in the House of Representatives and two have no previous legislative experience. Twenty-two members are incumbents.

The Legislature will reconvene at the start of the new year. Learn more about Sen. Claxton at