Sen. Deschambault sworn into the Maine State Senate

Posted: December 31, 2018 | Senator Deschambault

AUGUSTA—On Wednesday morning, Sen. Susan Deschambault, D-Biddeford, was officially sworn into the Maine Senate. This past November, Sen. Deschambault was elected to serve her third term.

“I am grateful for the opportunity to continue my work in the Maine Senate,” said Sen. Deschambault. “This is a position I take very seriously, and I look forward to picking up where I left off. I intend to continue working in a bipartisan fashion to strengthen our local economy and improve the lives of Maine people.”

Gov. Paul LePage administered the oath of office to Sen. Deschambault in his cabinet room, where she was surrounded by friends and colleagues. Sen. Deschambault represents Senate District 32, which includes her hometown of Biddeford as well as the communities of Alfred, Arundel, Dayton, Kennebunkport, and Lyman.

Sen. Deschambault was unable to attend the scheduled swearing-in ceremony last week due to a previously scheduled trip to Taiwan, where she was serving as the delegate from the Maine Senate. She was chosen to serve in this capacity by outgoing Senate President Michael Thibodeau.  Prior to serving in the Legislature, Sen. Deschambault had a distinguished career in law enforcement. She spent more than 40 years in the Maine Department of Corrections as a social worker and eventually became Biddeford’s first female police commissioner. In her community, Sen. Deschambault has served on the Biddeford City Council, the city’s Planning Board and the York County Budget Committee. She continues to serve as a Director of the PeoplesChoice Credit Union in Saco.

Since her initial election to the Legislature in 2016, Sen. Deschambault has served on a number of different committees. Most recently, she served on the Joint Standing Committee on State and Local Government and the Joint Select Committee on Marijuana. Sen. Deschambault has one adult son and lives in Biddeford.

Of the 35 senators sworn into the 129th Maine Senate, there are 21 Democrats and 14 Republicans. Twelve are women and 23 are men. There are 13 new members: 11 have recently served in the House of Representatives and two have no previous legislative experience. Twenty-two members are incumbents.

The Legislature will reconvene on January 2.