Sen. Herbig sworn into the Maine Senate

Posted: December 05, 2018 | Senator Herbig

AUGUSTA—Earlier today, Democratic Senator Erin Herbig of Belfast was sworn into the Maine Senate. Sen. Herbig was elected to her first term in the Senate in November.

Chief Justice Leigh Saufley administered the oath of office to Sen. Herbig and 32 of her Senate colleagues, all of whom have been elected to serve two-year terms. She represents the good people of Waldo County in Senate District 11.

“Having grown up in Waldo County, I couldn’t be more honored or proud to represent my family, friends and neighbors in the Maine Senate,” said Sen. Herbig. “In my hometown of Belfast, we’ve experienced economic struggles with industries and workers leaving the state. But we’ve also been able to embrace new economic opportunities that have come our way. This session, I will continue to fight for an economy that both prioritizes our heritage industries and provides new industries with room to grow.”

A proud fifth-generation resident of Waldo County, Sen. Herbig is dedicated to making working and living in Maine easier for students and families. She was elected to the House of Representatives in 2010, where she served four terms, including two as House Chair of the Legislature’s Labor, Commerce, Research and Economic Development Committee and one term as House Majority Leader. Throughout her legislative service, Sen. Herbig has fought consistently for long-lasting investments in Maine’s rural communities and workers statewide.

Sen. Herbig lives in Belfast with her husband Joe and their two children, Anna and Charles.

Of the 35 senators, there are 21 Democrats and 14 Republicans. Twelve are women and 23 are men. There are 13 new members: 11 have recently served in the House of Representatives and two have no previous legislative experience. Twenty-two members are incumbents.

The Legislature will reconvene at the start of the new year.