Sen. Linda Sanborn sworn into the Maine Senate

Posted: December 06, 2018 | Senator Linda Sanborn

AUGUSTA—Earlier today, Democratic Senator Linda Sanborn of Gorham was sworn into the Maine Senate. Sen. Sanborn was elected to her first term in the Maine Senate in November.

Chief Justice Leigh Saufley administered the oath of office to Sen. Sanborn and 32 of her Senate colleagues, all of whom have been elected to serve two-year terms. Sen. Sanborn represents Senate District 30, which includes Gorham, part of Scarborough and part of Buxton.

“As a family physician, I’ve seen too many people cut corners when it comes to their own health because the cost of care is simply too expensive. And that’s a problem,” said Sen. Sanborn. “I look forward to working with my new colleagues in the Maine Senate to increase the health and well-being of Maine people. This means increasing immunization rates among children, lowering the cost of prescription drugs and holding insurance companies accountable.”

Sen. Sanborn practiced family medicine in Gorham for 25 years before retiring in 2007. Following her retirement from medicine, she was elected to the Maine House of Representatives, where she served two terms on the Legislature’s Health and Human Services Committee and two terms on the Appropriations and Financial Affairs Committee.

Aside from her legislative experience, Sen. Sanborn is an active member of her community. She serves as president of the board for the Leavitt’s Mill Free Health Center in Buxton, a member of the advisory board for the Maine Lung Cancer Coalition and a Corporator for Gorham Savings Bank. She also attends First Parish Congregational Church in Gorham. Sen. Sanborn currently lives in Gorham with her husband Jeff. The two have three adult sons and one granddaughter.

Of the 35 senators, there are 21 Democrats and 14 Republicans. Twelve are women and 23 are men. There are 13 new members: 11 have recently served in the House of Representatives and two have no previous legislative experience. Twenty-two members are incumbents.

The Legislature will reconvene at the start of the new year. Learn more about Sen. Sanborn at