Sen. Mark Lawrence sworn into Maine Senate

Posted: December 04, 2020 | Senator Lawrence

AUGUSTA — Earlier today, Sen. Mark Lawrence, D-Eliot, was sworn into the Maine Senate. Sen. Lawrence was elected to his sixth nonconsecutive term in the Senate in November.

Hon. Andrew M. Mead, Acting Chief Justice of the Maine Supreme Court, administered the oath of office to Sen. Lawrence and 31 of his Senate colleagues, all of whom have been elected to serve two-year terms. He represents the good people of Senate District 35, which includes the towns of Eliot, Kittery, Ogunquit, South Berwick, and part of Berwick.

“As I said at the beginning of the first session of the 130th Legislature, this legislative term will be unlike any other,” said Sen. Lawrence. “I know we need to work together across parties to affect real change in Maine. I am eager to get started on this goal and am grateful for my community who showed their trust in me by sending me back to Augusta.”

Sen. Lawrence is a practicing attorney from Southern Maine, with a distinguished career in public service. He was first elected to the Maine House of Representatives during his second year of law school, where he served from 1988 to 1992. He then served four terms in the Maine Senate from 1992 to 2000, with two years as the President of the Maine Senate. Following his career in the Legislature, he served as York County District Attorney from 2003 to 2010 before opening up a private practice in South Berwick. He lives in Eliot with his wife, Tina, and daughters, Céline and Hayley.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the swearing-in ceremony was held at the Augusta Civic Center to allow for greater physical distancing. A live stream of the event was made available to the general public, and can be viewed online at

Of the 34 members of the Maine Senate, there are 21 Democrats and 13 Republicans. Thirteen are women and 21 are men. There are 10 new members: Five have recently served in the House of Representatives and the other five have no previous legislative experience. Twenty-four members are incumbents.

The Legislature will reconvene at the start of the new year. Learn more about Sen. Lawrence at