Sen. Tipping sworn into Maine Senate

Posted: December 07, 2022 | Senator Tipping

AUGUSTA — Earlier today, Sen. Mike Tipping, D-Orono, was sworn into the Maine Senate. Sen. Tipping was elected to his first term in the Senate in November.

Gov. Janet Mills administered the oath of office to Sen. Tipping and 34 of his Senate colleagues, all of whom have been elected to serve two-year terms. He represents the people of Senate District 8, which includes Alton, Argyle Township, Burlington, Carroll Plantation, East Central Penobscot UT, Edinburg, Enfield, Greenbush, Howland, Lagrange, Lakeville, Lee, Lincoln, Lowell, Milford, Old Town, Orono, Passadumkeag, Penobscot Indian Island, Prentiss Township, Springfield, Twombly Ridge Township, Veazie, Webster Plantation, Whitney Township and Winn.

“It has been an exciting day here at the State House getting sworn in with my fellow senators,” said Sen. Tipping. “This upcoming session will bring new opportunities and challenges that we will need to face. I am eager to roll up my sleeves and begin working to help my constituents and the people of Maine, who have put their trust in me to represent them here.”

Sen. Mike Tipping grew up in Orono, attending Asa Adams Elementary and Orono Middle and High School before studying Political Science at Dalhousie University, where he served as Student Union President and Chair of the Alliance of Nova Scotia Student Associations. Sen. Tipping has worked in the field of public advocacy for his entire career, including serving as spokesperson for statewide referendum campaigns to expand senior care and raise Maine’s minimum wage.

Working for the Maine People’s Alliance and Maine People’s Resource Center, he helped hold the former owners of the HoltraChem plant accountable for mercury pollution in the Penobscot River through a landmark federal lawsuit and mandated ecosystem-wide cleanup.

The swearing-in ceremony was held in the Senate Chamber, and was attended by family and friends of the Senators, as well as the general public. A live stream of the event was made available to the general public, and can be viewed online at

Of the 35 members of the Maine Senate, there are 22 Democrats and 13 Republicans. Fourteen are women and 21 are men. There are 13 new members of the Senate: seven have recently served in the House of Representatives, and six have no previous legislative experience. Twenty-two members are incumbents.

The Legislature will reconvene at the start of the New Year. Learn more about Sen. Tipping at