Senate Democratic leaders mark new start with 128th Legislature

Posted: December 07, 2016 | Senator Jackson, Senator Libby

Jackson, Libby pledge to deliver for Mainers left behind

AUGUSTA — Senate Democratic Leader Troy Jackson of Allagash and Senate Democratic Whip Nate Libby of Lewiston welcome their new and returning colleagues to the Maine Senate on Wednesday following a swearing-in ceremony held at the State House.

“With the new Legislature sworn in and ready to work, it’s our job to show Mainers back home that we’re committed to creating a system that doesn’t leave them behind,” said Sen. Jackson. “Our focus has to be on the folks who are scraping just to get by on wages that are too low, who have been hurt by the changing economy or who are unsure how they’ll provide for their kids’ futures. As we look toward the next two years, we’ll work to support policies that help those Mainers, and we’ll fight to oppose ones that further stack the deck against them.”

Sen. Jackson is beginning his fourth term in the Maine Senate and second as the Senate Democratic Leader. He has previously served on the Maine Legislature’s committees on Inland Fisheries and Wildlife; Labor, Commerce, Research and Economic Development; State and Local Government; Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry; and Energy, Utilities and Technology. He represents Senate District 1, which consists of northern Aroostook County.

“The time for campaigning is over. Now it’s time to govern,” said Sen. Libby. “We know what we need to build a brighter future for our state. Homeowners need property tax relief. Maine businesses need skilled workers and our people need the tools to equip them for good-paying, reliable jobs. Our students and teachers need, finally, to receive adequate funding for local schools. Mainers expect us to make good on the promises we’ve made, and Senate Democrats plan to deliver.”

Sen. Libby is beginning his second term in the Maine Senate, having previously served in the House of Representatives and on the Lewiston City Council. He has served on the Legislature’s committees on Taxation and State and Local Government. He represents Senate District 21, which comprises the City of Lewiston.