Sens. Libby, Vitelli sworn into Maine Senate

Posted: December 03, 2020 | Senator Libby, Senator Vitelli, Senators

AUGUSTA — On Wednesday, Sen. Nate Libby, D-Lewiston, and Sen. Eloise Vitelli, D-Arrowsic, were sworn into the Maine Senate. Sens. Libby and Vitelli were elected by voters in November, and were chosen to be Senate Majority Leader and Assistant Majority Leader, respectively.

Hon. Andrew M. Mead, Acting Chief Justice of the Maine Supreme Court, administered the oath of office to 34 senators, all of whom have been elected to serve two-year terms. Sen. Libby represents the good people of Senate District 21, which includes Lewiston. Sen. Vitelli represents the good people of Senate District 23, which includes all of Sagadahoc County and the town of Dresden.

“I’m honored to once again be chosen to represent all the people of Lewiston in the Maine Senate,” said Sen. Libby. “I know we have many challenges ahead of us, but we also have many opportunities to do right by the people of Maine. By working together, I know that we’ll get our state economy back on track.”

During his time in the Senate, Sen. Libby has served as the Ranking Member of the Government Oversight Committee, the Joint Standing Committees on Taxation and State & Local Government, and the Task Force on Maine’s 21st Century Economy and Workforce. He also has served in the Maine House of Representatives and the Lewiston City Council.

“Swearing-in day is always a solemn day, and an important reminder of legislators’ duty to the people of Maine,” said Sen. Vitelli. “Our constituents are counting on us to have their backs, and to pass good laws that will improve their lives. I’m eager to get back to work.”

Sen. Viteli was first elected to the Maine Senate during a special election in 2013. The Maine Small Business Administration has recognized Sen. Vitelli’s career in economic development, which also included serving for many years on the Maine Economic Growth Council. In 1995 she was inducted into the Maine Women’s Hall of Fame.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the swearing-in ceremony was held at the Augusta Civic Center to allow for greater physical distancing. A live stream of the event was made available to the general public, and can be viewed online at

Of the 34 members of the Maine Senate, there are 21 Democrats and 13 Republicans. Thirteen are women and 21 are men. There are 10 new members: Five have recently served in the House of Representatives and the other five have no previous legislative experience. Twenty-four members are incumbents.

The Legislature will reconvene at the start of the new year. Learn more about Sens. Libby and Vitelli at