Sen. Ingwersen sworn into Maine Senate

Posted: December 07, 2022 | Senator Ingwersen

AUGUSTA — Earlier today, Sen. Henry Ingwersen, D-Arundel, was sworn into the Maine Senate. Sen. Ingwersen was elected to his first term in the Senate in November.

Gov. Janet Mills administered the oath of office to Sen. Ingwersen and 34 of his Senate colleagues, all of whom have been elected to serve two-year terms. He represents the people of Senate District 32, which includes Arundel, Biddeford, Dayton, Hollis and Lyman.

“I am honored and humbled to have been chosen by the people of Arundel, Biddeford, Dayton, Hollis and Lyman to serve as their state senator,” said Sen. Ingwersen. “I wish to extend my thanks to all of you for putting your trust in me. I pledge to do my best to listen to you, work hard, and serve you all to the best of my ability.”

Sen. Ingwersen is an educator, beekeeper and family man. He lives on the family farm in Arundel. Sen. Ingwersen was a teacher for 25 years. He has a master’s degree in Educational Leadership from the University of Southern Maine. In 2018, Sen. Ingwersen was elected to and served one term in the Maine House, representing Arundel, Dayton and Lyman. He was a member of the Education and Cultural Affairs Committee. Sen. Ingwersen is currently president of the Arundel Conservation Trust. He also serves on the board of Defend Our Health, which works to ensure all people have access to safe, toxic-free food and drinking water.

The swearing-in ceremony was held in the Senate Chamber, and was attended by family and friends of the Senators, as well as the general public. A livestream of the event was made available to the general public, and can be viewed online at

Of the 35 members of the Maine Senate, there are 22 Democrats and 13 Republicans. Fourteen are women and 21 are men. There are 13 new members of the Senate: seven have recently served in the House of Representatives, and six have no previous legislative experience. Twenty-two members are incumbents.

The Legislature will reconvene at the start of the New Year. Learn more about Sen. Henry Ingwersen and sign up for his e-newsletters at